Hello Dear Reader(s)

Looking at the view from a downhill path at the Wilbur D. May Arboretum

I can never get friends here on the west coast to take walks with me. I think it is because we define what a walk is differently.

So let me explain what I was taught a walk was first.

I grew up in rural Michigan and spent many trips with my family mushroom hunting for morels as a child. I was taught about all the edible plants that grew in the woods around me and encouraged to harvest them. Many summer pies were made from the raspberries, blackberries and boysenberries we harvested on our walks. So to me a walk is not about getting from point A to point B in as quick a time as possible. A walk is not about burning calories. A walk is about connecting with nature. Observing the plant and animal life and taking note of what is growing in case you need to harvest something. A walk is about looking at the types of rocks and soil and knowing what will grow in it. Where and what type of water is nearby? What does nature provide in the area that you are walking through?

I recently forced my roommate on a walk through the Wilbur D May Arboretum and as he had only ever walked with people whose reasons for walking were either burning calories or getting to point A to point B in as quick a time as possible, he was very reluctant. We stopped on our walk several times to inspect the rosehips and discussed the size and what they would be good to use for on the bushes we found. We stared in wonder at the twisted limbs of the black willow trees and counted the amount of broken limbs and saw how the trees had compensated for that damage. We sat on a couple of benches and gazed out at the view and discussed what we saw, the snow on the mountains, the color of the rocks in the distance, the clustering of the trees, the flight of the blue jay that was irritated by our presence.

Irwin’s Overlook at the Wilbur D May Arboretum
Irwin’s Overlook at the Wilbur D May Arboretum

I feel we need to redefine the work “walk”

Walk: a relaxing walk through an area observing the flora and fauna around you with breaks to stop and breathe it all in.

Hike: an extended walk lasting most the day or over several days

March: A fast to moderate pace designed solely for burning calories or getting from point A to point B as quick as possible (Easily replicated on a treadmill next to a video wall with nature sounds playing) More of a slower form of running.

I once had a friend who said they wanted a person to go on walks with (and in the same sentence) “but I want someone who can keep up with me.” To me, that means a march or a hike as it requires significant stamina from the requested companion to participate.